About Ayurveda

Ayurveda is the oldest traditional healing system practiced in India and most comprehensive holistic healing system in the world. The word Ayurveda is originated from the two Sanskrit words, Ayur means life and Veda means science.

Ayu is defined as a combination of body, senses, mind and spirit is dead and it is not Ayu.

Therefore while defining thus stage it has been mention that one having equilibrium of doshas and agni (digestive and metabolic enzymes) with proper functioning of dhatu(tissues) and mala(metabolic byproducts and excretions) and possesses happiness of atma (spirit), Indriya (senses) and mana (mind) is a healthy. Thus ayurveda deals with disease person and not solely with his disease.

It is the complete science of life and not merely treatise on some of the medicine or treatments of the disease. Ayurveda has mainly three aims viz.

  1. To preserve the health,
  2. To promote the health of the healthy person and
  3. To cure the disease of the patients

Ayurveda practiced by special physicians called Vaidya. Vaidyas are known to promote positive health, natural beauty and long life.

Shamana Chikithsa (Curing of diseases)

Manages the symptoms of the disease and treats the cause of the disease with the help of various Ayurveda medicine and therapies. In Ayurveda there are thousands of medicines consisting of herbs, minerals, and biological products, which are used singly, or jointly to suppress and cure diseases, particularly when the disease is at an early stage.

Shodana chikithsa (Prevention of diseases)

It is one the most important and advanced techniques in Ayurveda and is an internal purification process. Purification can be used to cure diseases and at the same time to promote the healthy state of the body. Shodana chikitsa removes the Ama and Mala (toxins) from the body and restores the balance of the Doshas. Shodana Chikitsa consists of a three-stage purification process as follows:

Purva Karma    Preparatory purification prior to the main purification.

Pradhana Karma    The main five purification methods (known as Panchakarma treatment).

Paschath Karma    Post Rejuvenation Therapy.

Our ancient worshipful saints could again see the human body is made up of five basic elements i.e. earthen, water, energy, air and space. Balancing the different elements in the body. This life-science could see the physiology of human body in three Humors (Tridosha) & human mind in another set of three Humors (Satwa-Raj-Tama). These are known as Vata, Pitta and Kapha (the “Doshas” or body humors). The Doshas are the three main combinations of the five elements (ether, air, fire, water, and earth). These five elements in the body can be balanced through diet and herbs that possess the essence of each element.